The Bible and Parenting

The Bible supplies advice and counsel for every aspect of our lives.  Lately, I have been listening most to the parenting advice.  The best thing about the Bible is that the verses can be interpreted differently each time you read them.  I love how the words always seem to speak to my situation.  The following are some verses regarding parenting:

Train children in the right way, and when old, they will not stray.  Proverbs 22:6

I think this verse could apply to so many situations in raising children: discipline, learning, morals, and values.  We as parents are tasked with training.  Disciplined, moral kids don’t happen with magic but with training.

How much better to get wisdom than gold! To get understanding is to be chosen rather than silver. Proverbs 16:16

Although this verse doesn’t directly mention children, I apply it to not spoiling my baby or stressing out about not having enough financially.  The best thing I can give her is knowledge or, even better, a love of learning.

Even children make themselves known by their acts, by whether what they do is pure and right.  Proverbs 20:11

We need to show our children what is right by our actions.  Just telling children to do right won’t teach them responsibility for their choices.

Hear, my children the instruction of a father, and give attention to know understanding; For I give you good doctrine: Do not forsake my law.  When I was my father’s son, tender and the only one in the sight of my mother, he also taught me and said to me: “Let your heart retain my words; keep my commands and live.  Get wisdom! Get understanding!  Do not forget, nor turn away from the words of my mouth.”  Proverbs 4:1-5

A father urges children to keep his law and gain understanding and wisdom.  As parents, we need to set loving boundaries for our children to create a happy, safe place to grow and learn.  Teach your children to listen.  Give them instruction.

Hear, my child, and accept my words, that the years of your life be many. I have taught you in the way of wisdom; I have led you in right paths.  Proverbs 4:10-11

The bible urges us as God’s children to accept his words and in turn urges children to listen to their parents. I think this is also a call to parents to show your children the right path.  Lead by your actions.  Children are quick to copy.

 Fathers, do not provoke your children, lest they become discouraged. Colossians 3:21

All discipline and teaching need to be centered in love.  Otherwise, the child will feel discouraged.

For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.  Hebrews 12:11

Saying “no” to our children is one of the hardest tasks of a parent.  It is much easier to let our kids have the run of the house than it is to discipline them, but the reward of righteousness later certainly eases that burden.

 Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Psalms 127:3 

This is one of my favorites.  It reminds us that our children are a blessing and a reward.  We should treat them every day like the gift that they are.

There are so many other verses that can be translated into instructions for a parent.  Let me know some of your favorites!  Who said kids don’t come with an instruction book?!

 

 

2 comments

  1. I LOVE THIS!!! These are great scriptures. I love the part “Who said kids don’t come with an instruction book?!” I’ve never thought of that. It’s great. I will comment further when I find more verses… Great stuff

    Like

Leave a comment